Skip to content
Standby Generator Guide

Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect 040786: Verified Model Data

A source-linked guide to Briggs & Stratton PowerProtect standby generator model 040786, with separate LP/NG ratings, sound and fuel-use conditions, MSRP, warranty, and quote-scope caveats.

The essential briefing

Key takeaways

  • Manufacturer data for model 040786 lists 22 kW on both LP and natural gas and a 45 kVA motor-starting capability.
  • The product page lists a $6,037 starting MSRP and 7-year comprehensive limited warranty; neither is an installed quote or a substitute for full terms.
  • The listed 68 dB(A) sound figure has no measurement distance stated on the product page.

Evidence & review transparency

What informs this guide

View all sources

Research draws on the linked documents below. Source checks do not establish independent testing, licensed professional review, or suitability for your home.

ManufacturerBriggs & Stratton PowerProtect model 040786 product page and specificationsManufacturerBriggs & Stratton model 040786 specification sheet
Technical professional review pending.How this guide is reviewed

Prepared by our editorial research desk using linked sources. No licensed professional signoff or hands-on testing is claimed. See the review process and what remains to be reviewed.

Sources, editorial method & limitations
  • Manufacturer statements are distinguished from independent facts and our editorial interpretation.
  • Linked sources are listed below; product details, laws, and utility requirements can change.
  • Source links on this page were checked Oct 4, 2026.
  • Estimates, when included, are labeled and are not quotes or guarantees.
  • We do not claim hands-on product testing, licensed review, or installation experience.
  • We do not accept generator-brand, dealer, or installer advertising or referral payments.
Editorial and corrections policy →
Explore sections

BEFORE YOU REQUEST A QUOTE

Should you shortlist Briggs & Stratton?

Consider it when: Shortlist the documented PowerProtect configuration if its verified fuel-specific capacity meets your load analysis and the installer supplies a matching ATS and service plan.

Hold off when: Pause if the proposal assumes an ATS is included without a documented package, or converts incompatible fuel-consumption units without stating the assumptions.

Conditional editorial interpretation of the cited manufacturer sources. Not a tested reliability ranking, individual-home sizing approval or claim of local dealer availability.

Scope of this guide

This page addresses exact Briggs & Stratton standby model 040786, called PowerProtect 22 kW on the current product page. It does not summarize every PowerProtect capacity or imply independent reliability testing. Source data was checked October 4, 2026.

PowerProtect 040786 manufacturer data

Briggs & Stratton

PowerProtect 22 kW Standby Generator

Model 040786

22 kW on LP and natural gas; 120/240 V.

LP 22 kWNatural gas 22 kW

Engine
Briggs & Stratton Vanguard · 993 cc
Published dimensions (L × W × H)
46.5 × 26.8 × 28.4 in
Published weight
465 lb
Sound level stated by manufacturer

68 dB(A) — manufacturer-listed normal operating sound; measurement distance and test load are not stated on the cited page.

The published figure should not be ranked against models with different or undisclosed test conditions.

Fuel use at cited test loads

Natural gas, 50% load: 194000 BTU/hr

LP, 50% load: 217000 BTU/hr

Manufacturer test values; actual consumption depends on load, fuel quality, site conditions, and the exact configuration.

Starting MSRP shown on manufacturer page
$6,037 USD

Manufacturer-listed starting MSRP; not an installed quote. The product page does not establish an included transfer-switch bundle.

Transfer-switch scope
The cited generator product page does not state that a transfer switch is included; confirm the exact package in any dealer quote.
Warranty summary
Manufacturer lists a 7-year comprehensive limited warranty and says labor, parts, and service are included; check the warranty document for conditions and exclusions.

Briggs & Stratton

PowerProtect+ 26kW Home Standby Generator

Model 040807

LP 26 kWNatural gas 24 kW

Engine
Briggs & Stratton® Vanguard® Commercial-Grade · 993 cc
Published dimensions (L × W × H)
46 × 27 × 28 in
Published weight
545 lb
Sound level stated by manufacturer

67 dB(A) — Normal operating sound; distance and test load not established on captured product page..

Fuel use at cited test loads

LP, 50% load: 235000 BTU/hr

Natural gas, 50% load: 206000 BTU/hr

Manufacturer test values; actual consumption depends on load, fuel quality, site conditions, and the exact configuration.

Starting MSRP shown on manufacturer page
$7,336 USD

Manufacturer equipment starting MSRP, not an installed quote; ATS inclusion is not established.

Warranty summary
Manufacturer product page lists 7 year limited warranty. Full contract, registration, hour limits and exclusions must be checked.

Briggs & Stratton

PowerProtect+ 18kW Home Standby Generator

Model 040757

LP 18 kWNatural gas 18 kW

Engine
Briggs & Stratton® Vanguard® Commercial-Grade · 993 cc
Published dimensions (L × W × H)
46 × 27 × 28 in
Published weight
490 lb
Sound level stated by manufacturer

66 dB(A) — Normal operating sound; distance and test load not established on captured product page..

Fuel use at cited test loads

LP, 50% load: 193000 BTU/hr

Natural gas, 50% load: 176000 BTU/hr

Manufacturer test values; actual consumption depends on load, fuel quality, site conditions, and the exact configuration.

Starting MSRP shown on manufacturer page
$6,135 USD

Manufacturer equipment starting MSRP, not an installed quote; ATS inclusion is not established.

Warranty summary
Manufacturer product page lists 7 year limited warranty. Full contract, registration, hour limits and exclusions must be checked.

Briggs & Stratton

PowerProtect+ DX 22kW Home Standby Generator

Model 040790

LP 22 kWNatural gas 22 kW

Engine
Briggs & Stratton® Vanguard® Commercial-Grade · 993 cc
Published dimensions (L × W × H)
46 × 27 × 28 in
Published weight
490 lb
Sound level stated by manufacturer

66 dB(A) — Normal operating sound; distance and test load not established on captured product page..

Fuel use at cited test loads

LP, 50% load: 217000 BTU/hr

Natural gas, 50% load: 194000 BTU/hr

Manufacturer test values; actual consumption depends on load, fuel quality, site conditions, and the exact configuration.

Warranty summary
Manufacturer product page lists 10 year limited warranty. Full contract, registration, hour limits and exclusions must be checked.

The manufacturer's 50%-load fuel-use values are reported in BTU/hr on its page. They are not gas volume rates; do not convert them into a household bill without fuel heating value, actual load, and local energy prices.

Warranty summary and promotional claims

The manufacturer lists a 7-year comprehensive limited warranty for model 040786 and says labor, parts, and service are included. Read the linked warranty document for the exact coverage conditions, required registration, start date, exclusions, and any limits that apply to the purchased model and installation.

Briggs & Stratton markets the engine and warranty with comparative language such as “most comprehensive.” Those are manufacturer marketing claims; this publication has not independently ranked warranty coverage, motor-start performance, reliability, or service availability.

Before comparing a quote

  • Confirm model number 040786 and its fuel-specific rating on the proposal.
  • Ask whether a transfer switch is included; the cited generator product page does not establish an included switch package.
  • Match motor-starting claims to actual equipment, system voltage, and load conditions.
  • Ask for the warranty document and identify the local installer/service provider.
  • Compare permits, fuel/electrical runs, pad/site work, inspections, startup, and exclusions line by line.

See the standby cost guide for how unit MSRP and installed-project estimates differ.

Planning estimates disclaimer

These are planning estimates. Always check appliance nameplate for exact values. Hire a licensed electrician for final sizing.

Trace the evidence

Sources & further reading

Evidence record

2 linked sources · Source-check date:

Source checks establish what a document states. They do not establish independent performance or site suitability.

  1. 01
  2. 02
    Briggs & Stratton model 040786 specification sheet

    Manufacturer · Link checked 2026-10-04

Manufacturer specifications and regulatory requirements may change. Check the current official documents and consult qualified local professionals before committing to a system.