THE BUYER DECISION
Could KOHLER / Rehlko 12RESV work for your home?
Documented output: 12 kW LP / 11 kW natural gas. The final choice depends on actual loads, starting demand and your chosen fuel.
Transfer equipment: An ATS is listed for this exact configuration; verify the switch model, current rating and service-entry suitability in writing.
Do not buy yet if: the local installer cannot verify load fit, fuel delivery, commissioning, current warranty and service coverage for the exact model.
Not a recommendation to purchase or a tested field-reliability assessment. Missing manufacturer data remains unknown.
Exact-model snapshot
KOHLER / Rehlko 12RESV — 12RESV residential standby generator. Selected 60 Hz single-phase residential ratings; manufacturer pages may also list other electrical configurations. Confirm exact ordering code.
| Product family | RESV |
|---|---|
| Published standby output | 12 kW LP / 11 kW natural gas |
| Engine | KOHLER · KT725 1.9L, 4-Cycle · 725 cc |
| Dimensions | 30.6 × 28 × 32.4 in (L × W × H) |
| Published weight | 433 lb |
| Electrical configuration | 120/240 V selected residential configuration · Single-phase; other configurations may also appear on manufacturer page · 60 Hz |
| Enclosure | Steel |
| Manufacturer page | Open exact product page |
Fuel-use data: keep load and units attached
The current source registry contains the following manufacturer-published test points. These are not a household fuel forecast; actual consumption changes with electrical load, fuel conditions, setup and runtime.
| Fuel | Load | Published consumption |
|---|---|---|
| LP | 50% | 57 ft³/hr |
| Natural gas | 50% | 128 ft³/hr |
Sound data: mode and measurement conditions matter
- 67 dB(A) — Weekly exercise; distance and complete protocol not established by this captured page, measurement distance not stated in the captured source.
- 71 dB(A) — Full-speed operation; distance and complete protocol not established by this captured page, measurement distance not stated in the captured source.
Manufacturer values are not an independent head-to-head acoustic test. Installation geometry, reflective surfaces, load and operating mode can change what a listener experiences.
Price, transfer-equipment scope and warranty
Starting price: $4,384 USD
Manufacturer starting MSRP for the identified configuration; dealer customization and installation determine the final quote.
Transfer equipment: Manufacturer page lists ATS as Included. Specify the switch separately in the written quote.
Warranty summary: Manufacturer product page: Premium five-year limited warranty. Full contract and hour limits need verification.
Structured ATS record: Included: Yes · Model: Not verified · Amperage: Not verified · Service entrance: Not verified.
Load management: Exact module compatibility and included accessories not verified.
Monitoring: Manufacturer lists remote monitoring as Included. Confirm connection and subscription requirements.
Cold-weather accessories: Exact accessory part numbers and operating conditions require manual verification.
Warranty hour limit: Only established where expressly included in the cited summary above; otherwise unknown.
A product-page MSRP is not an installed-project price. Site work, ATS/service equipment, fuel work, electrical work, permits, load management, accessories, commissioning and local labor can materially change the total.
Field-level source map
Published facts below are attributed to the cited manufacturer source. A product document is not independent performance evidence. Missing fields remain unknown.
- display Name — manufacturer source
- family — manufacturer source
- ratings Kw — manufacturer source
- starting Msrp Usd — manufacturer source
- enclosure — manufacturer source
- weight Lb — manufacturer source
- engine — manufacturer source
- dimensions In — manufacturer source
- electrical — manufacturer source
- fuel Consumption — manufacturer source
- warranty — manufacturer source
- monitoring — manufacturer source
- transfer Switch — manufacturer source
- ats — manufacturer source
- sound — manufacturer source
Current evidence gaps: load management, cold weather, warranty hour limit, full warranty exclusions, certifications not independently verified.
- owner Manual — linked manufacturer document; applicability and revision must be checked for the purchased unit.
- specification — linked manufacturer document; applicability and revision must be checked for the purchased unit.
- installation Manual — linked manufacturer document; applicability and revision must be checked for the purchased unit.
What the manufacturer sources do not prove
- They do not establish field reliability or failure rate versus another brand.
- They do not prove the quality or availability of local dealer/service support.
- They do not size a specific home or prove that every desired load can run simultaneously.
- They do not convert starting MSRP into a complete installed quote.
- They do not make unlike sound-test conditions directly comparable.
- They do not replace the current installation/operator manuals, local code, utility/fuel requirements, or a qualified property-specific assessment.
Questions to put beside this exact model in a quote
- Is 12RESV the exact generator being supplied, or can the contractor substitute another model?
- Which fuel and published standby rating are being used in the load analysis?
- What exact ATS / transfer-equipment model is included?
- Which load-management modules or accessories are included?
- Which current warranty documents apply to the generator and ATS?
- Who performs commissioning, scheduled service and warranty repairs locally?
- Which site, fuel, electrical and permit items are excluded or allowances?
